2023 Awards

Daniel Burnham Award for a Comprehensive Plan

Winner: Plan Osky Comprehensive Plan

Award Recipients: City of Oskaloosa, RDG Planning & Design


Best Practice Award

Winner: City of Waverly Multi-Community Plan Updates & Collaborative Engagement

Award Recipients: City of Waverly, Councilman-Hunsaker, Toole Design, MSA Professional Services, Inc.


Resilience and Sustainability Award

Winner: Central District Stormwater Improvements Master Plan

Award Recipients: City of Bondurant, SmithGroup, Veenstra & Kimm


Urban Design Award

Winner: Civic Campus Master Plan

Award Recipients: City of Bondurant, SVPA Architects, Confluence, Kirkham Michael


Economic Development Planning Award

Winner: Downtown Des Moines: Future Forward Vision & Action Plan

Award Recipients: City of Des Moines, Greater Des Moines Partnership, Polk County, RDG Planning & Design


Exemplary Student Project Award

Winner: Liberty Square Master Plan

Award Recipients: University of Iowa School of Planning & Public Affairs


1st Place: Student Poster Contest

Winner: Liberty Square Master Plan

Award Recipients: Farnaz Fatahi, University of Iowa, Sepehr Yadollahi, University of Iowa


2nd Place: Student Poster Contest

Winner: Reimagining Campus Mobility

Award Recipients: Lighton Nakidde, Iowa State University


3rd Place: Student Poster Contest

Winner: The Town Square

Award Recipients: Hirad Dabbagh, Iowa State University, Tyler Whittaker, Iowa State University


Distinguished Service Awards

Winners: Liesl Seabert, AICP, Zach Young, AICP, Bill Micheel, AICP, Lucie Laurian, Alexsis Fleener, AICP, Haley Boyd, Keegan Haines, Andre Lafontant


Distinguished Leader Award

Winner: David Wilwerding, AICP


Nomination Process

The nomination period is not opened yet for 2024.

  • All nominations must be submitted via e-mail. Please refer to each award category for specific criteria.
  • A plan, project, program, tool, process, report, or ordinance may only be entered once per award year.
  • An individual may submit more than one nomination but may not submit the same plan or project in multiple award categories.

Eligibility and Information

Any plan, project, program, tool, process, report, or ordinance must have been published, implemented, or completed within three (3) years of the date of submission except for the Implementation award category.

Who can enter?

  • Individual recipients are ineligible to receive the same award for 10 years after acceptance.
  • Individuals, planning firms, and planning agencies cannot self-nominate for individual, firm, or agency award categories.
  • Anyone working on a plan or project may nominate that plan or project for an award.
  • Nominators may not be related by blood or marriage to any individual they wish to nominate.
  • Members of the APA-Iowa Board of Directors are not eligible to enter or to receive individual awards.
  • Nonmembers of APA are excluded from submitting a nomination for the Distinguished Leadership Award for a Professional Planner award category.
  • Projects / plans must be located within the State of Iowa

Rules for the 2024 Award Program to be announced.

Planning Student Poster Contest

Here’s your chance to win some cash and attend the 2024 APA Iowa Chapter Planning Conference for FREE! Posters will be judged and prizes of $500, $300, and $200 awarded to first, second, and third place, respectively. All students who submit a poster receive a free registration to the APA Iowa Chapter Conference in 2024.

Rules for the 2024 Planning Student Poster Contest to be announced.