

# American Planning Association lowa Chapter Board Meeting

VIRTUAL ONLY November 17, 2023 10:00 AM

Creating Great Communities for All

**Join Zoom Meeting** 

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/86499089279?pwd=c3V0RTJ5aThvR1NEMHAvVGdzcU1wUT09

Meeting ID: 864 9908 9279

Passcode: 460594

Find your local number: https://us02web.zoom.us/u/kbNdAxPldr

### **Meeting Agenda**

## 1.0 Call to Order

### 2.0 Roll Call

Officers:
PresidentVice PresidentPast PresidentSecretaryTreasurer
Madeline Sturms
Liesl Seabert
Dylan Mullenix
Bill Micheel
Zach Young

**Executive Board Members:** 

Professional Development OfficerPlanning Board MemberUniversity of IowaIowa State University
David Wilwerding
Trina Flack
Haifeng Qian
Francis Owusu

**Program Area Chairpersons** 

Chapter DevelopmentOutreachAwards
Anne Russett
Melissa Tiedemann
Chris Shires

Communications- Ben Curtis
Conference- Vacant

DEI- Caleb Knutson Sponsorship - Charlie Cowell

Legislative & Policy- Steven Van Steenhuyse

Liaisons (non-voting)

University of Iowa GraduateIowa State University UndergradIowa State University GraduateIowa State University GraduateLighton Nakidde
Bret VandeLune
Floodplain/Stormwater ManagementSteve Cooper

## 3.0 APA Iowa Membership Forum/Input

## 4.0 Approval of Agenda and Minutes

- 4.1 Approval of Agenda for Friday, November 17, 2023
- 4.2 Approval of Minutes of Friday, September 15, 2023 *Attachment*

#### 5.0 Business Items

- 5.1 Ratification of APA Iowa 2024-2025 Election Results Attachment
- 5.2 Consideration of 2024 budget requests and 2023 APA-IA Chapter Budget Attachment
- 5.3 Consideration of 2024 Legislative Agenda *Attachment*
- 5.4 Consideration of Chapter-Only Membership for Non-Member Conference Attendees Attachment

- 5.5 Appoint Sarah Constable Runkle as Conference Chair for remaining term
- 5.6 Appoint Charlie Cowell as Professional Development Officer beginning January 1, 2024

### 6.0 Discussion Items

- 6.1 Strategic Plan Update
- 6.2 APA National All-Iowa Reception Minneapolis

## 7.0 Officers Reports

- 7.1 President (Sturms)
- 7.2 Vice President (Seabert)
- 7.3 Immediate Past-President (Mullenix)
- 7.4 Secretary (Micheel) Attachment -
- 7.5 Treasurer (Young)
  - 8.5.1 Chapter Treasurers Report- Attachment Receive and Accept Report

### 8.0 Executive Board Reports

- 8.1 Professional Development Officer (Wilwerding)
- 8.2 Planning Board Member (Flack)
- 8.3 University of Iowa (Qian)
- 8.4 Iowa State University (Owusu)
- 8.5 Chapter Development (Russett)
- 8.6 Sponsorship (Cowell)
- 8.7 Outreach Program (Tiedemann)
- 8.8 Legislative & Policy Program (Van Steenhuyse)
- 8.9 Recognition/Awards Program (Shires)
- 8.10 Communication Program (Curtis)
- 8.11 Conference Program (Vacant)
- 8.12 Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Program (Knutson)
- 8.13 University of Iowa Graduate Program (Brackett)
- 8.14 Iowa State University Undergraduate Program (Whittaker)
- 8.15 Iowa State University Graduate Program (Nakidde)
- 8.16 County Planning and Zoning Officials of Iowa (VandeLune)
- 8.17 Iowa Floodplain and Stormwater Management Association (Cooper)

#### 9.0 Other Items Not on the Agenda

### 10.0 Upcoming Board Meetings

January 19, 2024, virtual

### 11.0 Adjournment of Board Meeting

#### **Upcoming Dates**

December 4-6, 2023 – APA State Legislative Summit, Des Moines

January – Strategic Plan Workshop

January 19, 2024 - Board Meeting, Virtual

February 22, 2024 – Planners Day on the Hill, Capitol (7-10am)

March 22, 2024 – Board Meeting, Iowa State University

April 13-16, 2024 – National Planning Conference, Minneapolis

May 8-10, 2024 - National Planning Conference, Online

May 17, 2024 - Board Meeting, Virtual

July 19, 2024 - Board Meeting, Virtual

September 20, 2024 - Board Meeting, University of Iowa

November 15, 2023 - Board Meeting, Virtual