

Creating Great Communities for All

American Planning Association lowa Chapter Board Meeting

University Capitol Center 2nd floor Room 2520B UCC 152 S Clinton St Iowa City, Iowa

> September 15, 2023 10:00 AM

> > Join Zoom Meeting

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/86499089279?pwd=c3V0RTJ5aThvR1NEMHAvVGdzcU1wUT09

Meeting ID: 864 9908 9279

Passcode: 460594

Find your local number: https://us02web.zoom.us/u/kbNdAxPldr

Meeting Agenda

1.0 Call to Order

2.0 Roll Call

Officers:
PresidentVice PresidentPast PresidentSecretaryTreasurer
Madeline Sturms
Liesl Seabert
Dylan Mullenix
Bill Micheel
Zach Young

Executive Board Members:

Professional Development Officer- David Wilwerding Planning Board Member- Trina Flack

University of Iowa- Vacant

Iowa State University- Francis Owusu

Program Area Chairpersons

Chapter Development- Anne Russett
Outreach- Melissa Tiedemann

Awards- Chris Shires
Communications- Ben Curtis
Conference- Alexsis Fleener
DEI- Caleb Knutson
Sponsorship - Charlie Cowell

Legislative & Policy- Steven Van Steenhuyse

Liaisons (non-voting)

University of Iowa GraduateIowa State University UndergradIowa State University GraduateLighton Nakidde
County Planning/Zoning OfficialsFloodplain/Stormwater ManagementSteve Cooper

3.0 APA lowa Membership Forum/Input

4.0 Approval of Agenda and Minutes

- 4.1 Approval of Agenda for Friday, September 15, 2023
- 4.2 Approval of Minutes of Friday, July 21, 2023 Attachment

5.0 Business Items

- 5.1 Appointing Haifeng Qian as University of Iowa Representative
- 5.2 2024 Executive Board Meeting Dates and Locations *Attachment*
- 5.3 Ratification of APA lowa 2024-2025 Election Results Attachment

6.0 Discussion Items

- 6.1 Strategic Plan Update
- 6.2 Annual Conference Update

7.0 Officers Reports

- 7.1 President (Sturms)
- 7.2 Vice President (Seabert)
- 7.3 Immediate Past-President (Mullenix)
- 7.4 Secretary (Micheel) Attachment -
- 7.5 Treasurer (Young)
 - 8.5.1 Chapter Treasurers Report- Attachment Receive and Accept Report

8.0 Executive Board Reports

- 8.1 Professional Development Officer (Wilwerding)
- 8.2 Planning Board Member (Flack)
- 8.3 University of Iowa (Laurian)
- 8.4 Iowa State University (Owusu)
- 8.5 Chapter Development (Russett)
- 8.6 Sponsorship (Cowell)
- 8.7 Outreach Program (Tiedemann)
- 8.8 Legislative & Policy Program (Van Steenhuyse)
- 8.9 Recognition/Awards Program (Shires)
- 8.10 Communication Program (Curtis)
- 8.11 Conference Program (Fleener)
- 8.12 Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Program (Knutson)
- 8.13 University of Iowa Graduate Program (Brackett)
- 8.14 Iowa State University Undergraduate Program (Whittaker)
- 8.15 Iowa State University Graduate Program (Nakidde)
- 8.16 County Planning and Zoning Officials of Iowa (VandeLune)
- 8.17 Iowa Floodplain and Stormwater Management Association (Cooper)

9.0 Other Items Not on the Agenda

10.0 Upcoming Board Meetings

November 17, 2023, 10:00 AM - Virtual

11.0 Adjournment of Board Meeting

Upcoming Dates

October 11-13, 2023 – Upper Midwest APA Conference, Cedar Falls November 17, 2023 – Board Meeting, Virtual December 4-6, 2023 – APA State Legislative Summit, Des Moines April 13-16, 2024 – National Planning Conference, Minneapolis May 8-10, 2024 – National Planning Conference, Online