

American Planning Association **Iowa Chapter Board Meeting**

VIRTUAL ONLY January 19, 2024 10:00 AM

American Planning Association **Iowa Chapter**

Creating Great Communities for All

Join Zoom Meeting

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/87019486908?pwd=YytVRjBEOUIJTzRMNzdBOHQrVIFQZz09 Meeting ID: 870 1948 6908 Passcode: 271146 Find your local number: https://us02web.zoom.us/u/kLXcDqPuf

Meeting Agenda

1.0 Call to Order

2.0 **Roll Call**

Officeres

<u>Officers:</u> President- Vice President-	President- Madeline Sturms		<u>Program Area Chairperso</u> Chapter Development- Outreach-	o <u>ns</u> Anne Russ Melissa Tie	
Past President-			Awards-	Chris Shires	
Secretary-	retary- Zhi Chen		Communications-	Ben Curtis	
Treasurer-	Tom Gruis		Conference-	Sarah Run	kel
			DEI-	Caleb Knu	tson
			Sponsorship -	Trey Rouse	
Executive Board Members:			Legislative & Policy-	Steven Van Steenhuyse	
Professional Development Officer- Charlie Cowell			<u>Liaisons (non-voting)</u>		
Planning Board Member- University of Iowa- Iowa State University-Trina Flack Haifeng Qian Francis Owusu		University of Iowa Graduate- Iowa State University Undergrad-		Elizabeth Brackett	
			Iowa State University Graduate-		Tyler Whittaker Keerthana Kishore
		County Planning/Zoning Officials- Floodplain/Stormwater Management-		Bret VandeLune	

3.0 **APA lowa Membership Forum/Input**

4.0 Approval of Agenda and Minutes

- Approval of Agenda for Friday, January 19, 2024 4.1
- 4.2 Approval of Minutes of Friday, November 17, 2023 - Attachment

5.0 **Business Items**

- Consideration of 2024 Legislative Agenda Attachment 5.1
- 5.2 Appoint Keerthana Kishore Kumar as Iowa State University Graduate Representative beginning January 19, 2024

6.0 **Discussion Items**

- Strategic Plan Update 6.1
- 6.2 APA National All-Iowa Reception - Minneapolis

7.0 Officers Reports

- 7.1 President (Sturms)
- 7.2 Vice President (Coenen)
- 7.3 Immediate Past-President (Mullenix)
- 7.4 Secretary (Chen)
 - 7.4.1 2023 Calendar Year Attendance Report Attachment Receive and Accept Report
- 7.5 Treasurer (Gruis)
 7.5.1 Chapter Treasurers Report Attachment Receive and Accept Report

8.0 Executive Board Reports

- 8.1 Professional Development Officer (Cowell)
- 8.2 Planning Board Member (Flack)
- 8.3 University of Iowa (Qian)
- 8.4 Iowa State University (Owusu)
- 8.5 Chapter Development (Russett)
- 8.6 Sponsorship (Rouse)
- 8.7 Outreach Program (Tiedemann)
- 8.8 Legislative & Policy Program (Van Steenhuyse)
- 8.9 Recognition/Awards Program (Shires)
- 8.10 Communication Program (Curtis)
- 8.11 Conference Program (Runkel)
- 8.12 Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Program (Knutson)
- 8.13 University of Iowa Graduate Program (Brackett)
- 8.14 Iowa State University Undergraduate Program (Whittaker)
- 8.15 Iowa State University Graduate Program (Kishore)
- 8.16 County Planning and Zoning Officials of Iowa (VandeLune)
- 8.17 Iowa Floodplain and Stormwater Management Association (Cooper)

9.0 Other Items Not on the Agenda

10.0 Upcoming Board Meetings

March 22, 2024, Iowa State University

11.0 Adjournment of Board Meeting

Upcoming Dates

January 26, 2024 – Strategic Plan Workshop, IEDA Office in Des Moines February 22, 2024 – Planners Day on the Hill, Capitol (7-10am) March 22, 2024 – Board Meeting, Iowa State University April 13-16, 2024 – National Planning Conference, Minneapolis May 8-10, 2024 – National Planning Conference, Online May 17, 2024 – Board Meeting, Virtual July 19, 2024 – Board Meeting, Virtual September 20, 2024 – Board Meeting, University of Iowa November 15, 2024 – Board Meeting, Virtual