

American Planning Association lowa Chapter Board Meeting

Virtual Meeting Only (Zoom) May 19, 2023 10:00 AM

Creating Great Communities for All

Join Zoom Meeting

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/86499089279?pwd=c3V0RTJ5aThvR1NEMHAvVGdzcU1wUT09

Meeting ID: 864 9908 9279

Passcode: 460594

Find your local number: https://us02web.zoom.us/u/kbNdAxPldr

Meeting Agenda

1.0 Call to Order

2.0 Roll Call

Officers:
PresidentVice PresidentPast PresidentSecretaryTreasurer
Madeline Sturms
Liesl Seabert
Dylan Mullenix
Bill Micheel
Zach Young

Executive Board Members:

Professional Development OfficerPlanning Board MemberUniversity of IowaIowa State University
David Wilwerding
Trina Flack
Lucie Laurian
Francis Owusu

Program Area Chairpersons

Chapter DevelopmentOutreachAwardsCommunicationsConferenceDEI
Anne Russett
Melissa Tiedemann
Chris Shires
Ben Curtis
Alexsis Fleener
Caleb Knutson

DEI- Caleb Knutson Sponsorship - Charlie Cowell

Legislative & Policy- Steven Van Steenhuyse

Liaisons (non-voting)

University of Iowa GraduateIowa State University UndergradIowa State University GraduateCounty Planning/Zoning OfficialsFloodplain/Stormwater ManagementElizabeth Brackett
Keegan Haines
Lighton Nakidde
Bret VandeLune
Mark Land

3.0 APA lowa Membership Forum/Input

4.0 Approval of Agenda and Minutes

- 4.1 Approval of Agenda for Friday, May 19, 2023
- 4.2 Approval of Minutes of Friday, March 24, 2023 Attachment

5.0 Business Items

5.1 Consider recommendation of Nominating Committee for 2024-2025 Elections

6.0 Discussion Items

- 6.1 Planners Emeritus Network Update
- 6.2 2023 Legislative Session Update

7.0 Officers Reports

- 7.1 President (Sturms)
- 7.2 Vice President (Seabert)
- 7.3 Immediate Past-President (Mullenix)
- 7.4 Secretary (Micheel) Attachment -
- 7.5 Treasurer (Young)
 - 8.5.1 Chapter Treasurers Report- Attachment Receive and Accept Report

8.0 Executive Board Reports

- 8.1 Professional Development Officer (Wilwerding)
- 8.2 Planning Board Member (Flack)
- 8.3 University of Iowa (Laurian)
- 8.4 Iowa State University (Owusu)
- 8.5 Chapter Development (Russett)
- 8.6 Sponsorship (Cowell)
- 8.7 Outreach Program (Tiedemann)
- 8.8 Legislative & Policy Program (Van Steenhuyse)
- 8.9 Recognition/Awards Program (Shires)
- 8.10 Communication Program (Curtis)
- 8.11 Conference Program (Fleener)
- 8.12 Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Program (Knutson)
- 8.13 University of Iowa Graduate Program (Brackett)
- 8.14 Iowa State University Undergraduate Program (Haines)
- 8.15 Iowa State University Graduate Program (Nakidde)
- 8.16 County Planning and Zoning Officials of Iowa (VandeLune)
- 8.17 Iowa Floodplain and Stormwater Management Association (Land)

9.0 Other Items Not on the Agenda

10.0 Upcoming Board Meetings

July 21, 2023, 10:00 AM, virtual

11.0 Adjournment of Board Meeting

Upcoming Dates

July 21, 2023 – Board Meeting, Virtual September 15, 2023 – Board Meeting, Iowa City, Iowa October 11-13, 2023 – Iowa Planning Conference Cedar Falls November 17, 2023 – Board Meeting, Virtual