

American Planning Association Iowa Chapter Board Meeting

Virtual Meeting Only (Zoom) May 20, 2022 10:00 AM

Creating Great Communities for All

Join Zoom Meeting

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/87014581059?pwd=QIFkZjh4dVILWGo1RUNJd1diNFVNZz09

Meeting ID: 870 1458 1059

Passcode: 781027

Find your local number: https://us02web.zoom.us/u/kbNdAxPldr

Meeting Agenda

1.0 Call to Order

2.0 Roll Call

Officers:

President- Madeline Sturms
Vice President- Liesl Seabert
Past President- Dylan Mullenix
Secretary- Bill Micheel
Treasurer- Zach Young

Executive Board Members:

Professional Development Officer- David Wilwerding
Planning Board Member- Trina Flack
University of Iowa- Lucie Laurian
Iowa State University- Francis Owusu

Program Area Chairpersons

Chapter DevelopmentOutreachRecognition/AwardsCommunicationsConferenceDEISponsorship
Anne Russett
Melissa Tiedemann
Chris Shires
Steven Stransky
Alexsis Fleener
Caleb Knutson
Charlie Cowell

Legislative & Policy- Steven Van Steenhuyse

Liaisons (non-voting)

University of Iowa GraduateIowa State University UndergradIowa State University GraduateIowa State University GraduateCounty Planning/Zoning OfficialsFloodplain/Stormwater ManagementI Tanner Osing
Keegan Haines
Andre LaFontant
Bret VandeLune
Mark Land

3.0 Introduction and Welcoming of any Guests/Others

4.0 Approval of Agenda and Minutes

- 4.1 Approval of Agenda for Friday, July 15, 2022
- 4.2 Approval of Minutes of Friday, May 20, 2022 Attachment

5.0 APA Iowa Membership Forum/Input

6.0 Business Items

7.0 Discussion Items

- 7.1 2022 Legislative Session Update (Van Steenhuyse) Attachment
- 7.2 2022 Conference Update Ottumwa (Fleener)
- 7.3 Strategic Doing Update (Seabert)

8.0 Officers Reports

- 8.1 President (Sturms)
- 8.2 Vice President (Seabert)
- 8.3 Immediate Past-President (Mullenix)
- 8.4 Secretary (Micheel) Attachment -
- 8.5 Treasurer (Young)
 - 8.5.1 Chapter Treasurers Report- Attachment Receive and Accept Report

9.0 Executive Board Reports

- 9.1 Professional Development Officer (Wilwerding)
- 9.2 Planning Board Member (Flack)
- 9.3 University of Iowa (Laurian)
- 9.4 Iowa State University (Owusu)
- 9.5 Chapter Development (Russett)
- 9.6 Sponsorship (Cowell)
- 9.7 Outreach Program (Tiedemann)
- 9.8 Legislative & Policy Program (Van Steenhuyse)
- 9.9 Recognition/Awards Program (Shires)
- 9.10 Communication Program (Stransky)
- 9.11 Conference Program (Fleener)
- 9.12 Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Program (Knutson)
- 9.13 University of Iowa Graduate Program (Osing)
- 9.14 Iowa State University Undergraduate Program (Haines)
- 9.15 Iowa State University Graduate Program (LaFontant)
- 9.16 County Planning and Zoning Officials of Iowa (VandeLune)
- 9.17 Iowa Floodplain and Stormwater Management Association (Land)

10.0 Other Items Not on the Agenda

11.0 Upcoming Board Meetings

September 16, 2022: Location – Zoom November 18, 2022: Location - Zoom

12.0 Adjournment of Board Meeting