

# American Planning Association Iowa Chapter Board Meeting

Virtual Meeting Only (Zoom) January 21, 2022 10:00 AM

Creating Great Communities for All

**Join Zoom Meeting** 

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/87014581059?pwd=QIFkZjh4dVILWGo1RUNJd1diNFVNZz09

Meeting ID: 870 1458 1059

Passcode: 781027

Find your local number: https://us02web.zoom.us/u/kbNdAxPldr

# **Meeting Agenda**

#### 1.0 Call to Order

#### 2.0 Roll Call

| Officers:       |                 |
|-----------------|-----------------|
| President-      | Madeline Sturms |
| Vice President- | Liacl Sashart   |

Vice PresidentPast PresidentSecretaryTreasurer
Liesl Seabert
Dylan Mullenix
Bill Micheel
Zach Young

# **Executive Board Members:**

Professional Development OfficerPlanning Board MemberUniversity of IowaIowa State UniversityAt-LargeAt-LargeAt-LargeAt-LargeAt-LargeJim Holz

# Program Area Chairpersons

Rose Schroder
 Legislative & Policy 
 Steven Van
 Steenhuyse

 Recognition/Awards 
 Chris Shires

• Public Relations/Communications- Vacant

# Other (non-voting/non-board, but send agendas)

APA IA DEI Committee APA Climate Champion for IA Michael Delp
 Allison Van Pelt

# Liaisons (non-voting)

University of Iowa Graduate Iowa State University Undergrad Iowa State University Graduate County Planning/Zoning Officials Floodplain/Stormwater Management Tanner Osing
 Keegan Haines
 Andre LaFontant
 Bret VandeLune
 Mark Land

# 3.0 Introduction and Welcoming of any Guests/Others

#### 4.0 Approval of Agenda and Minutes

- 4.1 Approval of Agenda for Friday, January 21, 2022
- 4.2 Approval of Minutes of Friday, November 19, 2021 Attachment

## 5.0 APA Iowa Membership Forum/Input

#### 6.0 Business Items

- 6.1 Consider reappointment of Steven Van Steenhuyse as Legislative & Policy Chairperson
- 6.2 Consideration of 2022 Legislative Agenda Attachment -
- 6.3 Consideration of 2021 APA-IA Chapter Annual Report Attachment -

#### 7.0 Discussion Items

- 7.1 RFP for Future Conference Locations (Fleener)
- 7.2 ISU College of Design Career Fairs
- 7.3 Design Day on the Hill (Van Steenhuyse)
- 7.4 All-Iowa Reception (Sturms)
- 7.5 2022 APA-IA Chapter Annual Conference Ottumwa
- 7.6 By-Law Amendment Update (Micheel)
- 7.7 Strategic Doing Update (Seabert)

# 8.0 Officers Reports

- 8.1 President (Sturms)
- 8.2 Vice President (Seabert)
- 8.3 Immediate Past-President (Mullenix)
- 8.4 Secretary (Micheel)
- 8.5 Treasurer (Young)
  - 8.5.1 Chapter Treasurers Report- Attachment Receive and Accept Report

# 9.0 Executive Board Reports

- 9.1 Professional Development Officer (Wilwerding)
- 9.2 Planning Board Member (Flack)
- 9.3 University of Iowa (Laurian)
- 9.4 Iowa State University (Owusu)
- 9.5 At Large Representatives (Holz/Vacant/Fleener)
- 9.6 Chapter Development Program (Janson/Russett)
- 9.7 Professional Development (Cowell)
- 9.8 Outreach/Advocacy Program (Schroder/Tiedemann)
- 9.9 Legislative and Policy Program (Van Steenhuyse)
- 9.10 Recognition/Awards Program (Shires)
- 9.11 Public Relations/Communication Program (Vacant)
- 9.12 APA-IA Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Committee (Delp)
- 9.13 APA Climate Champion for Iowa (Van Pelt)
- 9.14 University of Iowa Graduate Program (Osing)
- 9.15 Iowa State University Undergraduate Program (Haines)
- 9.16 Iowa State University Graduate Program (LaFontant)
- 9.17 County Planning and Zoning Officials of Iowa (VandeLune)
- 9.18 Iowa Floodplain and Stormwater Management Association (Land)

## 10.0 Other Items Not on the Agenda

## 11.0 Upcoming Board meeting

March 18, 2022: Location - TBD

# 12.0 Adjournment of Board Meeting