

American Planning Association Iowa Chapter Board Meeting

Virtual Meeting Only (Zoom) March 25, 2022 10:00 AM

Creating Great Communities for All

Join Zoom Meeting

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/87014581059?pwd=QIFkZjh4dVILWGo1RUNJd1diNFVNZz09

Meeting ID: 870 1458 1059

Passcode: 781027

Find your local number: https://us02web.zoom.us/u/kbNdAxPldr

Meeting Agenda

Call to Order 1.0

2.0 **Roll Call**

n			rc	
	TT	IC		
				•

President-Madeline Sturms Vice President- Liesl Seabert Past President- Dylan Mullenix Secretary-Bill Micheel Treasurer-Zach Young

Executive Board Members:

Professional Development Officer- David Wilwerding Planning Board Member-Trina Flack University of Iowa-Lucie Laurian Iowa State University-Francis Owusu At-Large-Vacant At-Large-Alexsis Fleener At-Large-Vacant

Program Area Chairpersons

 Chapter Development-Vacant

• Professional Development-Charlie Cowell Outreach/Advocacy-Melissa Tiedemann

• Legislative & Policy-Steven Van Steenhuyse Recognition/Awards-Chris Shires

• Public Relations/Communications- Vacant

Liaisons (non-voting)

• University of Iowa Graduate-Tanner Osing • Iowa State University Undergrad-Keegan Haines • Iowa State University Graduate-Andre LaFontant • County Planning/Zoning Officials-Bret VandeLune • Floodplain/Stormwater Management- Mark Land

Introduction and Welcoming of any Guests/Others 3.0

4.0 **Approval of Agenda and Minutes**

4.1 Approval of Agenda for Friday, March 25, 2022

4.2 Approval of Minutes of Friday, January 21, 2022 - Attachment

APA Iowa Membership Forum/Input 5.0

6.0 Business Items

- 6.1 Consideration of Board Restructuring Proposal Attachment
 - 6.1.1 Consider Approval of Alexsis Fleener as Conference Chair
 - 6.1.2 Consider Approval of Caleb Knutson as Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Chair
 - 6.1.3 Consider Approval of Charlie Cowell as Sponsorship Chair
 - **6.1.4** Consider Approval of Anne Russett as Chapter Development Chair
 - **6.1.5** Consider Approval of Steven Stransky as Communications Chair
- 6.2 Consideration of the 2019-2024 Development Plan and 2022 Work Program Attachment –
- 6.3 Consideration of 2022 FY Budget Attachment –

7.0 Discussion Items

- 7.1 Legislative Update (Van Steenhuyse)
- 7.2 By-Law Amendment Update/Consolidated Election Process (Micheel/Sturms) Attachment -
- 7.3 2022 Conference Update Ottumwa (Fleener)
- 7.4 All-Iowa Reception (Sturms) Attachment -
- 7.5 Strategic Doing Update (Seabert)

8.0 Officers Reports

- 8.1 President (Sturms)
- 8.2 Vice President (Seabert)
- 8.3 Immediate Past-President (Mullenix)
- 8.4 Secretary (Micheel) Attachment -
- 8.5 Treasurer (Young)
 - 8.5.1 Chapter Treasurers Report- Attachment Receive and Accept Report

9.0 Executive Board Reports

- 9.1 Professional Development Officer (Wilwerding)
- 9.2 Planning Board Member (Flack)
- 9.3 University of Iowa (Laurian)
- 9.4 Iowa State University (Owusu)
- 9.5 At Large Representatives (Vacant/Vacant/Fleener)
- 9.6 Chapter Development Program (*Vacant*)
- 9.7 Professional Development (Cowell)
- 9.8 Outreach/Advocacy Program (Tiedemann)
- 9.9 Legislative and Policy Program (Van Steenhuyse)
- 9.10 Recognition/Awards Program (Shires)
- 9.11 Public Relations/Communication Program (Vacant)
- 9.12 University of Iowa Graduate Program (Osing)
- 9.13 Iowa State University Undergraduate Program (Haines)
- 9.14 Iowa State University Graduate Program (LaFontant)
- 9.15 County Planning and Zoning Officials of Iowa (VandeLune)
- 9.16 Iowa Floodplain and Stormwater Management Association (Land)

10.0 Other Items Not on the Agenda

11.0 Upcoming Board Meetings

May 20, 2022: Location – Zoom July 15, 2022: Location – Zoom

September 16, 2022: Location – Zoom November 18, 2022: Location – Zoom

12.0 Adjournment of Board Meeting